I am "Bạc Hà"

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams" – Eleanor Roosevelt

Little silent angel

It was a working and studying noon in a Starbuck in Buena Park.  I buried myself in textbook for coming end-term examination. I felt completely peaceful and happy. A cold mild Chai tea latte, cool air with soft music, talking out loud neighbor [they helped to make a working climate :D]

Then I saw a hand with a piece of paper. At first, I was reminded about ads flyer, just like what they do in my beloved hometown. I took and smiled habitually. It was a small white girl with copper hair and sad eyes. She just looked at me and said nothing. I, then, glanced at what the flyer wrote.

It was a diagram of American hand language system. The other side conveyed a bilingual message:

I am deaf forgive me for bothering you, will you? I am selling this to support my family. Will you kindly buy one?
Donation: $1.00 or $2.00
Thank You!!
God Bless You!!

It took a while for me to understand what she wanted to sell. Inevitably, I thought of a popular scam that some adults use children for begging people’s pity. But then I thought of the silently sad face of the girl. It’s no harm to believe in the good for once. If it was true, I could help someone, though just a little. If not, I could never check it out and still feel peaceful for what I had done.

I gave the girl a dollar [and noticed that she’d just got a denial from the other table] I also gave her a smile and said: “God bless you” silently. That moment made my day.

P.S. I also did it for admiration of that idea. She reminded me about Farah Gray, the teenager millionaire, who started to sell some painted stones to help his single mom at the age of 6. Wished that someday, she would be successful in her life, and her smile is sad no more. God bless her.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

