I am "Bạc Hà"

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams" – Eleanor Roosevelt

My Mexican co-worker

They are training together with me. If pass, we will become co-worker. So I paid a little time trying to get acquainted with them. These are something I’ve learned about them:

All of them have child/children even though they are still very young. It’s not so strange for I heard about their culture before. They tend to have children at very young age, and tend to have many of them too. I don’t quite know about what they think but some people told me they choose that kind of life to take advantage of welfare.

But it’s just a part of the surprise. At first, I thought they have a family. But it seems to be that they are single moms. One ever advised me to stay away from family too. And they told their story using the word “my boyfriend” instead of “my husband”. Anyway, it’s reasonable to be single mom. They have many benefits from government instead of bad rumor as in my culture.

All of them were born in US, but they barely speak English. They often chat and explain some new terms by Spanish. After 12 years of schooling, they move on with little English and computer skills too, but still live pretty well. That information inspired me a lot. I was not afraid no more talking to them, helping them to understand some new knowledge from training program or asking them about what I didn’t know.  My English has been getting well a lot after a couple days.

Some of them are very hard working, the others are a bit lazy. They changed the image of can-work-like-crazy Mexican guys in my mind.

Thank you for what they’ve taught me, even though they don’t know they did.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

