I am "Bạc Hà"

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams" – Eleanor Roosevelt

Dream catcher

A dreamcatcher is an artifact of Native American which contains a ring and a web made from a small rope. It’s often decorated by some sacred items like feather or bead. Sometimes, it’s as big as a small round table, sometimes just a handful one.

The first time I really concerned about one was my trip to Grand Canyon. Spent some nights in small wild west towns, I had time to stop by some small stores and had a look a round native american stuffs. There were so many things that would have lured money out of my pocket if there had been any.

I saw Indian flutes, some crystal stones, traditional music CD,  … and of course, dream catchers which caught my eyes the most. I recalled long ago, I had heard that Indians use them to protect themselves from nightmares. It sounded childish to me, but it still got my attention anyway. I then asked an expert of travelling and culture about other meanings of this artifact and was quite interesting about it. Native American also make a dreamcatcher as a gift to wish the receiver may achieve a goal or dream.

The idea about the good dream inspired me to collect myself some as good luck charms. I intended to make  one by myself. But before I can really do that, still longing that someone will give it to me….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

