I am "Bạc Hà"

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams" – Eleanor Roosevelt

Mid-20s (Toastmasters #4: How to say it)

What did you do when you were in your mid 20’s? At these ages, many people start to pursue the career they have been dreaming for years. Some get married with the person they are deeply in love with, and some other may decide to do something big, to change the world. I, in my mid-20’s, have a very important mission: Learn how to speak.

Mr. Toastmasters, fellow Toastmasters, and guests. Never did I think that I have to learn to speak.

My speaking ability appeared very early. I still remember the day I came home from kindergarten and grand dad asked me: “Hey Minh, what did you learn in school today?” “Hmmm, not much,” I replied, “Ms. Mai taught me only one thing: Shhhh, shhhhh, and shhhhh”

This talent is proven another time when Dad brought home a telephone. After 3 months, Mom had to call the carrier to stopped the service which already cost half of her salary.

But then 2 and 1/2 year ago, I started to reconsider about this, when I got to the LAX. It was the first time I visited such a huge international airport. I got quite confused and didn’t know where to go. So I asked an employee for direction. After 4 or 5 repeating, the man gave me a very detail instruction.

I followed exactly step by step. Instead of getting to the waiting area, where my family were waiting, I ended up on the street. Oh my goodness, getting lost in a cold weather at a strange place where nobody could understand what I say. Though I managed to find the way myself, after 30 minutes, the problem didn’t stop.

Many months later, I still couldn’t get along with my cousins or make new friends. I had very hard time explaining what I think, which made me feel like a retarded person. My life was screwed.

One year ago, I determined that it was time to learn how to speak and got out to look for a Toastmasters club. Right before my ice breakers speech, I couldn’t even speak a long sentence influently. But after a year listening, learning, and living in our very supportive family, I have become another person!

Now, I can give speech whenever I need, I know how to evaluate and encourage people, I get stronger not only in English but also in Vietnamese, my mother tongue language.

A couple weeks ago, I even recorded a speech for my website, motivate people to pursue big dreams. The video clip got a thousand views in just a week. A lot of audiences also asked me to make it more in the future. Though there are many things need to improve, I get back the confidence to speak.

Now I have a question for you. What did you do when you were in your late 20s? To me, a man who is going to step to my late 20s soon, I decide to speak my way to Distinguish Toastmasters!

Thank you.

Update: Just delivered. The speech got a Best Speaker of the Day award. So happy

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

